Call Us | 318-377-1555
Fill Out The Form Below for a Free Consultation
Vehicular Manslaughter Offenses
Second DUI Defense Lawyer in Minden, LA
Minden Vehicular Manslaughter Defense Lawyer
Vehicle accidents are traumatic experiences that can leave devastating, catastrophic, and fatal consequences for those involved. It even gets worse when somebody dies after a tragic accident. Unfortunately, if you were driving under the influence or your negligence resulted in someone’s death, you may be charged with vehicular manslaughter. However, partnering with a skilled vehicular manslaughter defense lawyer can help make sure that your rights are protected throughout the legal process.
Like any other criminal charge, vehicular manslaughter charges are serious and could change your life forever. Therefore, speaking with a skilled criminal defense attorney at John D. & Eric G. Johnson Law Firm as soon as possible is important. We can help defend your rights and help get your charges reduced or dropped.
What Is Vehicular Manslaughter?
In Louisiana, vehicular manslaughter is an offense involving the death of another person while negligently operating a vehicle. A vehicle can be any machine used for transportation, including a car, truck, bicycle, RV, or boat. However, you can only be charged with vehicular manslaughter if you unintentionally murder someone while driving.
Generally, vehicular manslaughter is similar to DWI charges but can attract more severe consequences. This is why it’s crucial to have a highly skilled criminal defense lawyer fighting for you. Our experienced lawyers are more than willing to thoroughly investigate your case and provide the best legal representation possible.
When Can You Be Charged With Vehicular Manslaughter?
You can be charged with vehicular manslaughter if any of the following conditions existed and contributed to the death of a person:
- You were impaired by alcohol, controlled substances, or alcoholic beverages
- You were operating a vehicle in a negligent manner
- The defendant is impaired by one or more drugs that are not controlled dangerous substances but caused intoxication after they knowingly consumed more than the prescribed dosage
However, to be convicted of vehicular manslaughter, the prosecutor must prove that the driver’s negligence caused the death of another person. Our skilled vehicular manslaughter defense lawyers can help you aggressively fight these charges and get the best possible outcome. Don’t hesitate to call us if you face Minden vehicular manslaughter charges.
Penalties For Vehicular Manslaughter
Vehicular manslaughter is a serious felony in Louisiana. If convicted, you could face the following punishments:
- A fine of between $2,000 and $15,000
- A prison sentence of between 5 years to 30 years with or without hard labor and at least three years of the sentence without the benefit of probation, parole, or suspension of sentence
- 5-year prison time without the benefit of probation, parole, or penalty suspension if you had a prior DWI/DUI conviction or a blood alcohol concentration of 0.15% and more
In addition to that, the defendant may also be required to participate in a substance abuse program or a court-approved driver improvement program if the accident was the result of substances. Unfortunately, the penalties get harsher if the accident causes the death of two or more human beings. With years of experience and proven success, our skilled criminal defense attorney can help lessen the punishment or get your charges dropped.
Defending Against Charges of Vehicular Manslaughter
In a vehicular manslaughter case, the prosecution must show beyond reasonable doubt that the defendant’s intoxication was a negligent act that caused a death. When facing these charges, suspects have an uphill battle in the legal system that requires the expertise of our dedicated criminal defense attorneys. Our vehicular manslaughter defense lawyers will investigate the facts of your case and help you build an effective defense against your charges.
While every case is unique, we can defend your case by weakening the prosecution’s claims. This includes attacking the charges or challenging any evidence presented by the prosecution that may not be admissible in court or may be weak or circumstantial.
Our experienced vehicular manslaughter defense lawyers will carefully comb through the evidence and circumstances in your case to determine the best defense approach. Therefore, if you or your loved one is facing vehicular manslaughter charges, contact us today to learn how we can help your case.
How a Minden Vehicular Manslaughter Defense Attorney Can Help
Any criminal charge like vehicular manslaughter requires a competent criminal defense attorney to help you navigate the legal system. A vehicular manslaughter defense lawyer can advise you on your rights, represent you in court, and present your case to the judge and jury. They can also gather evidence, cross-examine witnesses, challenge the prosecution’s arguments, and do everything possible to help your case and mitigate your punishment.
A Minden vehicular manslaughter defense attorney can provide the legal guidance and support you need to defend yourself against serious charges. You should not have to go through this frightening time by yourself. Hire a dedicated vehicular manslaughter defense lawyer at John D. & Eric G. Johnson Law Firm to help you prove the facts of your case.
Contact a Skilled Minden Vehicular Manslaughter Defense Lawyer Today
Minden takes vehicular manslaughter cases seriously. The consequences of such a conviction go beyond several years in prison and significant fines. You may have difficulties finding a job, maintaining social interactions in a community, and sustaining other areas of your life. That’s why you need experienced representation from a vehicular manslaughter defense lawyer who will use their knowledge and skills to viciously fight for you.
At John D. & Eric G. Johnson Law Firm, we understand that your future and freedom are in our hands. That’s why our skilled criminal defense lawyers will work vigorously to protect your rights and negotiate a favorable resolution to the charges. Call us at (318) 377-1555 or contact us online to schedule your free initial consultation.