Call Us | 318-377-1555
Louisiana Drug Possession Lawyer
Drug Possession Attorney in Shreveport, Bossier City, Monroe, & Ruston, LA
Louisiana compensates for fairly relaxed gun laws with exceedingly strict drug laws that severely punish nonviolent drug users for possessing minimal amounts of controlled substances. Several of these laws were established at the height of the national War on Drugs, which has sentenced thousands of nonviolent offenders throughout the country to serve long, arduous terms. The consequences for a drug offense often go far beyond serving time; you will carry this offense on your criminal record for the rest of your life. For the best chance to prevent a misdemeanor or felony drug conviction from standing in your way, explore your legal options with Louisiana defense attorney Eric G. Johnson of the John D. & Eric G. Johnson Law Firm.
Marijuana Possession in Louisiana
Possessing even a small amount of marijuana in Louisiana can lead to serious consequences.
- Carrying under 14 grams of marijuana can lead to up to 15 days in jail and a fine of $300 for a first offense.
- Possessing more than 14 grams of marijuana for the first time can lead to up to six months in jail and a fine of $500.
- A second offense conviction for possessing marijuana is a misdemeanor crime that can lead to no more than six months in jail and a fine of up to $1,000.
- A third marijuana possession offense can lead to up to 2 years in a state prison and a fine of up to $5,000. Four or more offenses can lead to up to 8 (eight) years in prison and fines of up to $5,000.
If you are caught with marijuana in Louisiana, do not hesitate to collaborate with an experienced drug possession defense attorney. The sooner you get started on your defense, the better your chances of a favorable outcome.
Possession of Other Controlled Substances
Although marijuana is federally listed as a Schedule I substance, the consequences for marijuana crimes are not as harsh as those for more dangerous drugs. In Louisiana, you can expect to receive years-long prison sentences with or without hard labor, and fines in the thousands of dollars for unlawfully possessing substances in Schedules I-V. In addition, the judge will enhance penalties for possession of larger quantities. Your criminal record, as well as the type and amount of drug, are all factors that the judge will consider when determining your sentence.
Speak with Eric today to discuss your criminal drug charges in Louisiana. With over 27 years of experience practicing criminal law, he will exhaust all available resources to ensure you receive the best defense possible. Call 318-479-0562 for a free consultation.