Call Us | 318-377-1555
Fill Out The Form Below for a Free Consultation
Second DUI Defense Lawyer in Minden, LA
Second DUI Defense Lawyer in Minden
Getting caught while driving under the influence of alcohol or any other illegal substances will lead to an immediate arrest and charge. There is not a lot of leniency when you are found operating a motorized vehicle while substantially impaired, as it leaves not only your life at risk, but others as well. This is only exacerbated when it is your second charge.
If you are facing your second DUI offense, don’t hesitate to reach out to a Minden second DUI defense attorney. With decades of collective legal experience, John D. & Eric G. Johnson Law Firm is committed to providing you with the best defense possible in your time of need. We understand that no two cases are alike, which is why our Minden second DUI defense lawyers will take all the time necessary to listen to your unique story and craft a tailored plan of action around it.
What Constitutes a Second DUI?
A second DUI, or driving under the influence (DUI), is a criminal charge that happens when someone operates a motorized vehicle with a blood alcohol content (BAC) over Louisiana’s legal limit of 0.08%. It is important to note that this charge applies even if you have not been drinking – it can also be issued if you’re found to be driving under the influence of any illegal substance. It is also not limited to motor vehicles, but instead to general motorized transportation including boats and scooters.
In Louisiana, a second DUI conviction is considered a misdemeanor and comes with serious penalties, such as:
- Jail time of up to six months
- Up to $1,000 in fines
- License suspension of up to two years
- Up to a possible 240 hours of community service
- Ignition lock device
- Mandatory participation in a driver-improvement program
If it is your second offense but you are found to have an exceedingly high BAC, a currently revoked or suspended license, a minor of 12 years of age or younger in the vehicle with you, or you have refused to consent to a breath, blood, or urine test, your charges will be aggravated and considerably more severe.
How Does the Cleansing Period Affect My Second DUI Charge?
In Louisiana, there is a 10-year cleansing period that could affect whether or not your DUI charge can be considered a second offense. If your last DUI charge was in the past 10 years, it is still considered a second offense and you will be charged as such. However, if your last DUI charge was over the 10-year cleansing period, this current charge will count as your first DUI.
Your previous charges cannot be used to influence your sentencing or future charges. If you believe you have been incorrectly charged, your criminal defense attorney can help conduct a proper investigation and begin a course of action to correct any wrongdoings.
How We Handle Second DUI Cases
At John D. & Eric G. Johnson Law Firm, we understand that life can be hard, and sometimes one mistake can lead to another before you know it. That’s why our approach is different from others when it comes to second DUI defense. We won’t just treat your case like any other because we know that every person has their own set of circumstances and needs.
We’ll begin the process by asking the court within the 30-day mandate to retrieve your driver’s license back. We will then take the time to carefully review all of your case information, including any police reports, breathalyzer results, or video evidence that may be used in court. We will also look at mitigating factors, such as whether you were under duress circumstantially or medically, and we’ll do our best to make sure that the court considers all possible angles of your case.
Knowledge and Experience on Your Side
We’ll also use our extensive legal knowledge and experience to come up with a unique strategy specifically tailored to your situation, all while keeping the ultimate goal of reduced or dismissed charges in mind.
We won’t just fight for your legal rights; we’ll also fight for you and your future. With our second DUI defense services, you can rest assured that you will receive the best representation possible as we work to build a strong case on your behalf.
Secure Expert Legal Counsel with a Minden second DUI defense Attorney at John D. & Eric G. Johnson Law Firm
We understand how difficult it can be to face a second DUI charge and all the potential consequences that come with it. That’s why we offer professional legal counsel to help you get through this trying time. Our Minden second DUI defense attorneys are dedicated to providing top-notch service and will use their decades of combined experience to establish a strong legal defense for your case.
Our second DUI defense lawyers will go above and beyond to represent you, so contact John D. & Eric G. Johnson Law Firm today at (318) 377-1555 and let us put our expertise to work for you! You may also submit our contact form to get started.