Call Us | 318-377-1555
Louisiana Drug Crime Lawyer
Cost of a DUI in Louisiana
If you’re facing a DUI charge in Louisiana, you could face time behind bars, hefty fines, and other penalties that can take years to fully recover from. But how much does a DUI cost in Louisiana? What legal costs should you be aware of?
At John D. & Eric G. Johnson Law Firm, we are committed to assisting our clients through the DUI process every step of the way. We have experienced lawyers who will strive for the best possible outcome in light of such costs so that our clients can make sure their rights have been protected.
What Are Louisiana’s Penalties for a DUI?
When you’re charged with a DUI in Louisiana, the penalties can be severe. Below, you will find a breakdown of the potential fine associated with a DUI in Louisiana. Please note that the following data are for offenses involving a BAC (Blood Alcohol Content) of at least 0.08% but less than 0.15%.
If you are convicted of a first-time DUI, you may face up to six months in jail and as much as a $1,000 fine. Additionally, the judge presiding over your case may order you to attend an alcohol awareness program and install an ignition interlock device (IID) in your vehicle. At minimum, you could serve 10 days in jail and a $300 fine.
Drivers who are convicted of a second DUI may face up to six months in jail and a fine of up to $1,000. The judge may also order an alcohol awareness program, probation, and an ignition interlock device in your vehicle for at least six months. The minimum punishment for a second offense is 30 days in jail and a $750 fine.
Third or Subsequent Offense
A third DUI conviction carries the most severe penalties in Louisiana—up to five years of jail time and a fine of $2,000. Generally, the offender is looking at at least one year in jail, along with a $2,000 fine. Moreover, the judge may order an ignition interlock device in your vehicle and mandatory treatment for alcohol or substance abuse for a much longer period of time than for previous offenses.
Any offense exceeding three convictions is considered a felony, which can have a lasting impact on your life.
Additional Penalties for DUI in Louisiana
In addition to the fines and jail time associated with a DUI, you may face a mandatory driver’s license suspension and increased insurance premiums. The length of the required suspension depends on your prior DUI history but can range from two to four years in instances where your BAC is greater than 0.15%.
Such BAC levels come with a mandatory sentence of 48 hours in jail if it’s your first offense. For second offenses exceeding 0.15%, the mandatory sentence is 96 hours in jail. In cases where the driver’s BAC is 0.20% or higher, a 12-month IID is required. In addition, the license may be suspended for up to four years and a fine of $1,000.
Louisiana’s Penalties for Underage DUI Offenses
Any driver under 21 years of age found to have a BAC of 0.02% to 0.08% can face having their driver’s license suspended for 180 days, as well as installation of an IID.
Offenders could serve jail time ranging anywhere from 10 days to three months and pay a fine of $100 to $250. If probation is granted, the offender could be ordered to complete 32 hours of community service, a driver improvement course, and treatment for substance abuse.
A second offense carries harsher penalties, including jail time of one to three months and a fine of $250 to $500. Probation is much harsher as well, with community service increased to 80 hours. Driver improvement and substance abuse programs are also still required.
Penalties for Refusing BAC Tests
Louisiana is one of the many zero-tolerance states, meaning that any driver pulled over for suspicion of DUI who refuses a BAC test will face harsher penalties than those who submit to the tests.
Refusing to submit to a BAC test on a first offense will result in your driver’s license being suspended for one year, while second offenses will result in a two-year suspension.
Don’t Face a DUI Charge Alone—Contact an Experienced Criminal Defense Attorney Today
At John D. & Eric G. Johnson Law Firm, we understand that facing a DUI charge can be an overwhelming and scary process. That’s why our team of experienced lawyers takes the time to review your case, answer your questions, and explain the legal process every step of the way.
We will fight hard to get you the best possible outcome in court while also providing emotional support throughout this difficult time. Contact us today at (318) 377-1555 or submit our online contact form to schedule a free consultation.