Sex offenders face several restrictions in Louisiana. Often, these harsh restrictions bar offenders who have served their time from reintegrating into society in such a way that it is akin to them receiving another sentence. The justification for many of these restrictions is questionable as far as how effective they are in protecting society at large. Some criminal justice advocates and studies suggest that they hurt sex offenders — many of whom are nonviolent offenders who were convicted as minors — more than they increase safety. This may lead to higher rates of recidivism among the population of criminal offenders that are least likely to re-offend.
Many restrictions determine where an offender can work, live, or travel within a city. Additionally, offenders must regularly renew their registration and notify police of any changes in their registration information. It is necessary to abide by these restrictions for the duration of an offender’s registration requirement, which can be as little as 15 years or as long as the remainder of the offender’s life.
Restrictions on Where an Offender May Be
In Louisiana, offenders whose victims were under 13 years old are subject to harsh limitations on where they are able to present themselves. Such offenders may not be in, on, or within 1000 feet of a school or school property, or school-related activity in the presence of minors. These offenders may not live within 1000 feet of any public or private elementary or secondary school or childcare facility. They may also not live within 1000 feet of any public park or recreational facility, or physically be in or within 1000 feet of such park or facility. They may also not use a public library or stand on public library property or loiter within 1000 feet of public library property.
Sex offenders may not be eligible for certain types of employment in Louisiana. Offenders cannot:
- Operate a bus, taxicab, or limo for hire
- Provide services that require them to go to people’s homes
- Operate any carnival or amusement ride (for offenders who offended minors)
- Engage in door-to-door sales
Some restrictions are less publicized and may not affect offenders on a daily basis. Sex offenders in Louisiana may not:
- Participate in Halloween or other public holidays by distributing candy
- Use social media (for offenders convicted of indecent behavior with juveniles, pornography involving juveniles, computer-aided solicitation of a minor, video voyeurism, or any sexual offense in which the victim was a minor)
- Wear hoods or masks in public spaces
The key to avoiding sex offender registration is to align oneself with a strong and determined criminal defense attorney who focuses on sexual crimes in Louisiana. Attorney Eric Johnson of John D. & Eric G. Johnson Law Firm dedicates his practice to protecting the rights of those accused of criminal sexual offenses throughout Louisiana. Call (318) 479-0562 or fill out our contact form to schedule a free consultation.