With summer in full swing, it’s hard to believe that fall and football season are right around the corner. In the state of Louisiana, if there’s one thing people love in the fall, it’s cheering on the Saints and the Tigers. Still, on game day for either team, it can be a little too easy to have too much fun and people sometimes forget to follow the law. As a result, DUI arrests and illegal consumption tickets are prevalent.
To give you a heads up on how to have fun this football season, we’ve put together three simple tips on how to have a DUI free game day in Louisiana.
Understand DUI Laws and Penalties in Louisiana
To avoid breaking the law, it’s essential to first understand what the law requires. Luckily, in the state of Louisiana, DUI laws are fairly straightforward and easy to understand. If your goal is to avoid a DUI (and it should be), here are a few laws you need to take a look at:
- It’s unlawful for anyone under the age of 21 to consume alcohol in the state of Louisiana
- It’s unlawful for anyone to operate a motor vehicle with a BAC of .08 or greater
- It’s unlawful for anyone to operate a motor vehicle under the influence of any controlled substance
Penalties for breaking these laws are severe even for first-time offenders. Anyone convicted faces minimum fines of $300, ten days in jail, and loss of their driver’s license. Those who have been convicted more than once can face fines of up to $2,000, five years in jail, and loss of their driver’s license.
Having a solid understanding of these laws and penalties before you attend a big game tailgate might not stop you from having fun, but it might make you think twice before accepting drinks offered to you.
Know Your Alcohol Consumption Limits
Best practice for partying on game day is to never get behind the wheel of a motor vehicle, even if you’ve only had one drink. However, if you plan to drive to a party or tailgate and then drive home, knowing your limits when it comes to alcohol consumption can help you make it to your driveway without a DUI.
Blood alcohol content is different for every person and is dependent on height, weight, and body composition among many other factors. That means just because your friend has had 5 beers doesn’t mean you should too.
Take this example into consideration.
The average football game and tailgate is five hours long. If a 200 pound man had six beers during that time, his BAC would be .08 and it would be illegal for him to drive. For the average person at a party, a little more than 1 beer per hour is not unrealistic. It is, however, unrealistic if they want to drive home.
Before you head out to a party or bar this football season, use a BAC calculator to gain an understanding of your alcohol consumption limits.
Designate a Driver
Even if you understand Louisiana DUI laws and know your limits for alcohol consumption, the only way to ensure a safe and DUI-free game day for you and others on the road is to always designate a driver. Make an agreement with a friend, arrange for someone to pick you up, or leave your car at home and take an Uber.
Trusted Louisiana DUI Attorneys
If you’re reading this article after you’ve been charged with a DUI in the state of Louisiana, don’t worry. You can trust the attorneys at John D. & Eric G. Johnson Law Firm to stand by your side. Our team of lawyers has more than 25 years of experience defending DUI cases in the state of Louisiana. We pride ourselves on understanding what’s at stake when it comes to your case and providing you with the best possible representation.
To consult with our experienced team today and learn more about our viable DUI defense strategies, call our office at 318-377-1555 or fill out our online contact form to schedule your free consultation. We’re here and ready to assist!