If you are thinking about owning a gun or already own a gun in Louisiana, it’s crucial to know Louisiana’s gun laws and where you are and are not permitted to carry your weapon. Understanding these laws will help you avoid making any mistakes and ensure you take appropriate measures to avoid any legal issues.
We understand that Louisiana’s gun laws can be complex. Fortunately, our experienced legal team at John D. & Eric G. Johnson Law Firm is prepared to explain the most updated versions of these laws so you are better informed about using your firearm. With better knowledge of gun laws, you can reduce your worries about potentially breaking them.
Who Can Get a Permit to Carry a Gun in Louisiana?
Before purchasing a gun, it’s important to know who can actually get a permit to carry one. According to the Louisiana State Police, you can be 18 years old or over to own a gun and carry it in public without a permit as long as it is visible. If you want to conceal carry your weapon in public, you must be at least 21 years of age to get a permit to do so. In addition, you must also live in Louisiana to receive this permit. If you do not live in Louisiana, you must apply for a concealed carry permit in your state and follow their laws.
Louisiana has two types of permits: five-year and lifetime permits. Both are available to residents of Louisiana who are 21 years of age and older. Please note that even with a lifetime permit, you must show proof of your concealed carry permit every five years. Lifetime permits are also more expensive than five-year permits.
Where Can You Carry Your Gun in Louisiana?
After purchasing a firearm, knowing where you can and cannot carry your weapon in public will help you follow Louisiana’s gun laws. In the places where you can carry your weapon, you should still keep an eye out for any signage that specifies if you are allowed to have a gun with you. In Louisiana, you can carry your firearm in the following places unless stated otherwise:
- State parks: You can carry your weapon here with a permit or license unless there are signs saying you cannot carry guns in the park.
- State forests: A license or permit is required to carry your gun in a state forest.
- Roadside rest areas: You are allowed to carry your gun at roadside rest areas with a license or permit.
- Your vehicle: You do not need a permit or license to carry a gun in your vehicle, but you must tell the police you have one if you get pulled over and show them your permit or license.
In addition to these locations, you can carry your firearm in a majority of Louisiana. However, there are exceptions. According to RS §1379.3, places you cannot carry a gun with you include the following:
- Any law enforcement building or station
- Detention facilities
- Courtrooms and courthouses
- Polling locations
- Any meeting place for a political subdivision of the government
- The state capitol
- Places of worship
- Any parade or demonstration that has a permit to be held
- The bar area of a restaurant
- Any place that sells alcohol
- Schools and learning centers
- Any place prohibited by federal law
It’s imperative to stay aware of these locations and any “No weapons” signage in areas where you may think you are allowed to carry your weapon. This will prevent you from breaking laws and being fined or charged.
Contact an Experienced Louisiana Criminal Defense Lawyer at John D. & Eric G. Johnson
If you have been thinking about purchasing or recently purchased a gun, being aware of Louisiana’s gun laws is of the utmost importance. Knowing these laws will prevent you from breaking any rules and potentially facing fines or charges. If you need guidance on Louisiana’s gun laws, our seasoned legal team may be able to help you.
At John D. & Eric G. Johnson Law Firm, our attorneys have decades of experience serving the Minden, Louisiana, area and providing top-notch legal services in weapons cases. We dedicate ourselves to helping people understand their rights and the state laws to prevent any unnecessary legal issues. To speak with one of our skilled lawyers, please fill out our contact form or call us at (318) 377-1555.