Call Us | 318-377-1555
Fill Out The Form Below
For a Free Consultation
Ruston DUI Lawyer
We all make mistakes, but when those mistakes involve driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol, it can be hard to know where to turn. That’s why John D. & Eric G. Johnson Law Firm is here for you. We are Ruston’s premier DUI lawyer team specializing in providing our clients with a strong legal defense and personalized support that they need during this difficult time.
We understand it can be overwhelming to face a DUI charge alone, so we are here to help you every step of the way. With decades of experience in the field, our team is well-versed in Louisiana’s DUI laws and will work hard to get you the best possible outcome for your case.
What Constitutes a DUI Charge?
If you are found to be operating a motor vehicle while under the influence of alcohol or drugs, you will be charged with a DUI. It is likely that the arresting officer will conduct a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) test to determine if you meet the 0.08% maximum. If you meet or exceed this BAC percentage, this is all the evidence needed to charge you with a DUI. Louisiana has an “implied consent law,” which requires you to take any requested breath, blood, or urine testing. Failure to comply will immediately result in harsher punishments.
It is important to note you do not have to be physically driving your vehicle to be charged with a DUI. If the officer believes you have the intent to drive or catches you sitting in the motor vehicle with your keys, you can be charged and arrested. DUIs are also not limited to motor vehicles. Any motorized vehicle is subject to the same rules as a regular truck or car, including boats, motorized scooters, and even motorized skateboards.
What Happens When You’re Charged with a DUI in Louisiana?
Being charged with a DUI in Ruston is a serious matter. If convicted, you could be facing hefty fines and jail time, not to mention being forced to serve probation or attend an alcohol treatment program. The exact penalties depend on the circumstances surrounding your arrest and will be influenced by whether or not it is your first charge. Specific outcomes can be determined by the following factors:
- First DUI: Your first charge will likely be classified as a misdemeanor and come with up to $1,000 in fines, six months in jail, and license suspension lasting up to a year.
- Second DUI: A second DUI charge will result in a misdemeanor charge with up to $1,000 in fines, six months in jail, license suspension of up to two years, and a possible community service mandate of 240 hours.
- Third or More DUI: A third offense is a felony conviction with up to a $2,000 fine, up to six years in jail, a three-year license suspension, and more.
These charges can be exacerbated if you are found to have an exceptionally high blood alcohol content level or have a child under the age of 12 in the vehicle with you. The charges from a DUI offense can also make finding employment or obtaining financing for a car or home exceedingly difficult.
We Have Extensive Knowledge of Ruston’s DUI Laws
When you’re faced with a DUI charge, you can’t afford to leave your fate in the hands of a law firm that doesn’t have extensive knowledge of DUI laws. John D & Eric G. Johnson Law Firm has spent years understanding the nuances of DUI procedures and court proceedings, giving us a clear advantage when it comes to building effective defenses for our clients.
When you choose our team of highly-accomplished Ruston DUI lawyers, you can rest assured knowing that you are in capable hands. While other law firms might be likely to treat you like a number instead of an individual, our Ruston DUI attorneys handle each and every case as if it were our own.
Our DUI attorneys are passionate about protecting our clients from the harsh realities of a DUI conviction and will do whatever it takes to ensure that you receive the best possible outcome for your case. Louisiana state law currently only provides a 15-day window to file an appeal with the Louisiana State Department of Public Safety to help save your driver’s license, which means you must reach out sooner rather than later.