If you have been charged with drug possession in Louisiana, you may wonder about potential consequences and what to do next. Understanding state laws is not always easy, so contacting a drug possession defense lawyer is one of the best steps to take to fully grasp the scope of your case. Our knowledgeable attorneys at John D. & Eric G. Johnson Law Firm are here to help you understand Louisiana laws and provide open and honest communication.
With our years of experience working on Louisiana drug possession defense cases, we are well-versed in how the state categorizes different drugs and the varying degrees of potential penalties. Our compassionate team understands the impact these charges can have on your life, so we may be able to fight to get your charges reduced or dropped in the best case.
How Does Louisiana Categorize Different Drugs?
Like other states, Louisiana law categorizes controlled dangerous substances (CDS) into schedules based on the drug’s probability of abuse and its medical value. These schedules include the following:
- Schedule I: This is the most dangerous drug category, with substances having a high likelihood of abuse and no medical value. This includes heroin, marijuana, LSD, and ecstasy.
- Schedule II: This includes methamphetamine, oxycodone, morphine, fentanyl, Adderall, and cocaine, as they have a higher risk of abuse and little medical value.
- Schedule III: This includes CDS like ketamine and steroids. They have a mid-level probability of abuse and are only of some medical value.
- Schedule IV: Drugs like Xanax, Valium, and Klonopin fall under this category. They have a lower risk of abuse and high medical value.
- Schedule V: These substances have a low likelihood of abuse and are of the highest medical value. This includes substances like cough syrups and products that have less than 200 milligrams of codeine per 100 grams.
Law enforcement and the court use these schedules to determine possession charges and potential penalties. Therefore, it’s essential to understand these categories to better understand your circumstances.
What Are the Penalties for Drug Possession in Louisiana?
Each CDS schedule has different penalties, and the consequences you potentially face depend on the details of your case. Penalties for drug possession relate to the type of drug and the amount involved, and they may include the following:
- Schedule I: Potential penalties for possession of Schedule I drugs include fines from $5,000 to $600,000 and four to 30 years in prison, depending on the substance.
- Schedule II: Possession of Schedule II drugs may result in a $5,000 to $600,000 fine and five to 30 years in prison.
- Schedule III: Consequences for possession of drugs in this category may include up to five years in prison and up to $5,000 in fines.
- Schedule IV: Possession of Schedule IV drugs may result in up to five years in prison and a $5,000 fine. However, possession of Flunitrazepam could result in up to 10 years of imprisonment.
- Schedule V: Charges under this category could result in a $5,000 fine and up to five years in prison.
The court may also look into your criminal record when determining your penalties. Your punishments could be more serious if you have previous drug offenses. We may be able to take on your case, no matter the circumstances, and fight to get your charges and penalties reduced.
Other Louisiana Laws That Impact Drug Possession Charges
In addition to Louisiana’s CDS schedules and drug possession penalties, you should also be aware of other state laws that may affect your case and other penalties you may face. These laws include the following:
Possession in a Drug-Free Zone
In Louisiana, you cannot have drugs in designated zones, which include the following:
- Religious buildings
- Public housing
If you are caught possessing drugs in these areas, you could face 1.5 times the maximum consequences of a typical possession charge.
Confiscation of Driving Privileges
Another potential consequence of drug possession charges is losing your driver’s license. If a judge decides to do this, your driving privileges would be revoked for at least 30 days and no more than a year.
Reach Out to an Experienced Louisiana Drug Possession Defense Lawyer at John D. & Eric G. Johnson Law Firm
Louisiana has some of the strictest drug possession laws in the United States, so if you face these charges, you may worry about penalties and their impact on your career and future. We understand the potential consequences can be daunting, but if you contact a criminal defense lawyer right away, you could better your chances of getting penalties reduced or, in the best-case scenario, dropped.
Our talented attorneys at John D. & Eric G. Johnson Law Firm are here to listen to your story and handle every aspect of your case to help alleviate your worries. We are always prepared to take on any challenge and fight tirelessly for your rights. With our years of experience, we have the knowledge, skills, and resources to build the strongest possible defense for your case. To schedule a free case consultation, call us at (318) 377-1555 or fill out our contact form.