Individuals, who face drunk driving charges often ask the question, “How long can my license be suspended after a DUI in Louisiana?” The answer to this question depends upon the severity of the charges and specific facts of each case. Consulting with an experienced drunk driving lawyer like those with the John D. & Eric G. Johnson Law Firm can help you understand your legal rights and start building a strong DUI defense.
Will I Automatically Lose My License after a DUI Charge?
Another important issue many DUI defendants worry about is whether they will immediately lose their driver’s license after being charged with a DWI offense. Louisiana law allows the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) to suspend your license before any conviction is obtained. This contrasts sharply with other drunk driving penalties that only occur after a conviction.
It may seem unfair that you could lose your license based upon an accusation rather than any proof of guilt. This makes it crucial for you to request Driver’s License Hearing within 30 days of your arrest. An administrative hearing will then be held to consider whether you should keep your license in the short term. Failing to request this hearing will result in the DMV suspending your driver’s license.
How Long Will I Lose My License after a DUI?
In the event that a conviction occurs, the length of time you will lose your license is based upon various factors like blood alcohol content (BAC), whether it is a first or subsequent offense, and the facts of each particular case. Common factors used to determine how long your license is suspended include:
- Those who refuse to consent to a blood or breath test after a DUI arrest may lose their licenses for 180 after their first offense and 545 days for each subsequent refusal.
- Those arrested for DUI under the age of 21 who have a BAC of .02% or above lose their licenses for 180 days at a first offense and 2 years at a second offense
- Those arrested for DUI at or above the age of 21 with a BAC of .08% or above lose their licenses for 90 days at a first offense and 365 days for their second, third, or fourth offense.
- Those arrested for DUI at or above the age of 21 with a BAC of .20% or above lose their license for 2 consecutive years at the first offense
Keep in mind these regulations could change at any time, which makes consulting with the Louisiana Office of Motor Vehicles or a drunk driving defense attorney important to fully understand the penalties you could face. Also remember that subsequent convictions for driving while intoxicated will result in harsher sentences than first offenses.
Contact the Drunk Driving Attorneys at the John D. & Eric G. Johnson Law Firm
Driver’s licenses are often crucial for people’s ability to earn a livelihood, which makes the threat of losing your license frightening. Contact the drunk driving defense attorneys with the John D. & Eric G. Johnson Law Firm for a free case evaluation. We can help you understand your legal rights and begin building a vigorous defense. Call us at (318) 377-1555 or contact us online to schedule a no-obligation meeting.